School of Graduate Studies

Dr. Joseph M. Moerschbaecher, III Graduate Research Day


The 37th Annual Graduate Research Day Awards Ceremony was held on Friday, November 3rd. The Graduate Research Day award winners were announced by Dr. Bobby Siggins.

Award Winners

Poster Presentation Winners

  • 1st place - $1000 Travel Award
    • Hernan Mejia Gomez; CBA; Mentor: Mike Salling
    • Assessment of Frontal Cortex Function and Adolescent Alcohol’s Effect on Attentional and Response Inhibition Tasks
  • 2nd  place - $500 Travel Award
    • John Lammons; MIP; Mentor: Chris Taylor
    • Microbial Remodeling Associated with Frailty in People with HIV
  • 3rd  place - $250 Travel Award
    • Hayley Ulloa; Genetics; Mentor: Ed Grabzyk     
    • Targeting MLH3 to Slow DNA Repeat Expansion in a Huntington Mouse Model
  • 4th  place - $250 Travel Award
    • Kelsey Witmeier; School of Public Health; Mentor: Ashley Wennerstrom
    • “By us for us”: Lessons learned in developing a national training and technical assistance center by and for CHWs

Oral Presentations Winners

  • 1st place - $1500 Travel Award
    • Andy Grand Pre; CBA; Mentor: Emma R. Schachner
    • The Hepatic Piston in Crocodilians: Functionally Validating Osteological Correlates and Identifying its Origin in the Fossil Record
  • 2nd place - $1000 Travel Award
    • Taylor Fitzpatrick-Schmidt; Physiology, Mentor(s): Scott Edwards & Patricia Molina
    • Analgesic efficacy of alcohol in reducing HIV-associated neuropathic pain in preclinical and clinical settings
  • 3rd place - $500 Travel Award
    • Thomas E. Galbato; MIP; Mentor: Timothy P. Foster, PhD
    • The Role of the Serotonin 2A Receptor (5-HT2AR) in Retinal Pigmented Epithelial Cell-Associated Development and Progression of Age-Related Macular Degeneration

3MT Winner – trip to compete in the Regional 3MT Competition – Southern Conference of Graduate Schools

  • Eden Gallegos; Physiology; Mentor(s): Liz Simon & Patricia Molina
    • Fats, sugars, and alcohol oh my: what leads your liver down the wrong yellow brick road?


This event could not have happened without the Research Day committee (Drs. Siggins, Adorno, Desai, Farris, Mandal, Yu, & Zea, and Justin Smith, Sarah Melton, Tamara Morris, Gabrielle Vontz, & Cody Palazzolo), Dr. Stefany Primeaux, and Dat Dog.


The School of Graduate Studies has established a Graduate Research Day Fund in honor of Dr. Moerschbaecher.
If anyone would like to donate, please click here: