Click here for the Research Day Manual. 

Graduate Research Day 2017

(photos by Dr. Ham Farris, Betsy Giaimo, & Leigh Smith-Vaniz)


The 31st Annual LSUHSC Graduate Research Day was held on Friday, November 3, 2017 at the Downtown Campus. Graduate students participated in poster presentations, 10 minute oral presentations, and 3MT oral presentations. 

















The winners of the poster presentations were Ayesha Umrigar (Genetics), Kirsten Termine (Genetics), and Paul Stoulig (Physiology).

2017%203:00:57%20PM 2017%203:01:25%20PM


Robert Fuchs (Pharmacology) was selected as the winner of the 10 minute oral presentations. 


The winners of the 3MT oral presentations were Zachary Stielper (Physiology), Katelyn Robillard (Neuroscience), and Dr. Thomas Flanagan (Pharmacology).

2017%203:06:13%20PM 2017%203:06:43%20PM 2017%203:07:11%20PM

The School of Graduate Studies also announces the Chancellor's Award and Jack Hines Memorial Award during Graduate Research Day each year. The Chancellor's Award is given to a recently graduated student who exemplified academic excellence and related research accomplishments. The Jack Hines Award is given to a faculty or staff member who has demonstrated outstanding commitment to the School of Graduate Studies in honor of the beloved Jack D. Hines, III, former Director of the School of Graduate Studies. This year's recipients of the Chancellor's Award and Jack Hines Award respectively are Drs. David Polhemus and Diptasri Mandal. 

2017%203:09:37%20PM  2017%203:09:57%20PM

Past winners of the Jack Hines Award are: Dr. Jamie Becnel (2012), Dr. Fern Tsien (2013), Dr. Kathleen McDonough (2014), Dr. Sonia Gasparini (2015), and Dr. Andrew Hollenbach (2016).